ITEM NUMBER: 2

DEPARTMENT: Aviation

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Jesus H. Saenz, Jr., IAP

COUNCIL DISTRICT IMPACTED: Citywide

SUBJECT:

Consideration of At-Large Applicants to the Airport Advisory Commission (19 Slots)

SUMMARY:

The Transportation and Mobility Committee will review and recommend applicants for 19 available slots to the Airport Advisory Commission (AAC). The Airport Advisory Commission (AAC) is comprised of 19 members appointed by City Council At-Large for staggered two-year terms. Currently, there are 14 members on the Commission and five vacant positions.

The action by the Transportation and Mobility Committee will consider all 19 positions including the nine positions whose terms expired on March 18, 2020 and the 10 positions whose terms expired on March 18, 2021.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

The purpose of the AAC is to advise the Aviation Director on matters affecting the San Antonio Airport System and air transportation initiatives. The AAC membership includes representatives from the following categories:

- One Airport Business Lessee;
- One Alamo Area Council of Governments (AACOG) Representative; and
- Three Aviation Industry representatives;
- Four Business Community Representatives
- Six Community Representatives
- One Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Representative.
- One Ground Transportation Industry Representative;
- Two Travel and Tourism Industry Representatives;

The City issued two press releases for openings for the AAC on January 22, 2020 and October 16, 2020 which were advertised on the City's website, the Airport and City's social media sites and TVSA. The Office of the City Clerk continuously accepts applications for the AAC.

ISSUE:

AAC appointments require full City Council approval. The Transportation and Mobility Committee members will consider and recommend the following appointments and reappointments for the AAC for all categories except Business Community.

Category	Recommendation
Airport Business - Lessee	• Reappoint Ed Onwe for a term initiating on March 19, 2021 and expiring on March 18, 2023.
Alamo Area Council of Governments (AACOG)	• Reappoint Diane Rath for a term initiating on March 19, 2021 and expiring on March 18, 2023.
Aviation Industry	 Reappoint Mark Fessler for a term initiating on March 19, 2020 and expiring on March 18, 2022. Reappoint Aurelina Prado and Charnelle Chin for a term initiating on March 19, 2021 and expiring on March 18, 2023.
Community Representatives	 Reappoint Deborah Omowale Jarmon for a term initiating on March 19, 2020 and expiring on March 18, 2022. Appoint Rogers Dillard and William Pat Garrison for a term initiating on March 19, 2020 and expiring on March 18, 2022. Appoint Ronnell Bright, Rami Motawea and Amy Shaw
	for a term initiating on March 19, 2021 and expiring on March 18, 2023.
Federal Aviation Administration	• Reappoint Earl Jackson Jr. for a term initiating on March 19, 2020 and expiring on March 18, 2022.
Ground Transportation	• Reappoint John Grisell for a term initiating on March 19, 2020 and expiring on March 18, 2022.
Travel and Tourism	 Appoint Jonathan Salter for a term initiating on March 19, 2020 and expiring on March 18, 2022. Reappoint Marco Barros for a term initiating on March 19, 2021 and expiring on March 18, 2023.

The Committee will interview the following individuals for the four Business Community Representative positions:

- 1. Marsha Hendler, current Commission member
- 2. Francisco Cruz, current Commission member
- 3. Matthew Starr
- 4. Kevin Crawford
- 5. David Young
- 6. Niti Vanee
- 7. Patricia Gibbons

The Transportation and Mobility Committee members will vote on moving forward with a final list for consideration by the full City Council at the next available City Council meeting.

ALTERNATIVES: This is a briefing only.

FISCAL IMPACT: This is a briefing only.

RECOMMENDATION:

This is a briefing only.